2nd opinion

21 Mar

Ok, so the more I think about it I'm just not OK with ONE person telling me to never have kids again.  I've decided I will find another MFM or perinatologist and get a 2nd opinion.  Now I'm wondering if I should have the bloodwork sent to the new one or have them do repeat draws.  I'd also like to talk to someone about PCOS 'cause I have a feeling I have issues with that.

 

So, my question is would you repeat bloodwork or just have the reports sent to new doc?

 

We'll just go from what the "new" doc says and make decisions after that.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

6 Responses to “2nd opinion”

  1. karen March 20, 2007 at 11:12 pm #

    3rd opinions are good too. this is an important question so you should feel fine about asking more than one "expert." i've found that doctors vary in their ability/willingness to stay up to speed with the latest advances in medicine. i'm not sure what to say about the bloodwork, i'm pretty queasy myself, but labs make mistakes all the time too. maybe see the doctor first and ask them what they think – they might add some new tests to your list.
    Good luck!

  2. Butterfly Baby March 21, 2007 at 8:45 am #

    I would do both. Have the reports sent over for a second opinion AND repeat the bloodwork… good luck honey!

  3. MelPate March 21, 2007 at 9:00 am #

    Thanks for the great ideas y'all! I think I will ask the doc what they think!

  4. hydrogeek March 21, 2007 at 11:01 am #

    I think that's a great idea, and like was mentioned above, go ahead and re-do the labs. Not only b/c of the possibility of screw-ups, but GAH, we're talking about HORMONES here, who knows how the hell much they could be fluctuating. The PCOS thing is kinda tricky, but if you could convince someone to put you on glucophage it might help regulate all kinds of hormones. That's one of the things we had to battle, so email if you want any info about that. Good luck chica! Smooches!

  5. teendoc March 21, 2007 at 9:49 pm #

    Forgive me for being out of the loop, but why are you being advised not to have more children?

  6. dream March 23, 2007 at 12:47 pm #

    2nd opinion is good, and a 3rd if necessary. we saw 3 diff REs and each had diff opinions about things. how long ago was the bloodwork from? I would prob send the old result over to the new dr so he/she can review it together with the repeat/new bw result.

Leave a Reply

