Quickie

30 Jun

This insomnia has to end.  Seriously I usually do an every other night thing…one night I sleep like the dead the next night I'm up all night long and over and over.  I'm even on meds, heavy sleeping meds and they don't work.  The pain from the RSD is now going up my leg more and all over my toes (it used to be the top of my foot up to my ankle and ended at my toes).  The bottom of my foot is now hurting like a burning pain.  How am I supposed to walk if the bottom of my foot hurts? 

I have an appt either today (monday, since it's 2 am!) or tomorrow with the psych doc to see if he thinks I'm ok for the spinal cord stimulator.  But I've done research on the SCS and it's like a tens unit placed in your back.  That worries me all over again because when I wear my tens on my foot/ankle I can barely stand it, it doesn't help it actualy hurts more.  So if the SCS is like a TENS is it really going to help?  Should I go through all this (1 wk trial with no shower, psych evals and $30K of WC) for possibly more pain?  It works in 65-75% of people with RSD. (* pity party alert, warning)  Knowing me I'll be in the 25-ish% that it won't work on.

And to top it off I have a growth on my back (the back of my shoulder).  I noticed it, actually sis the nurse noticed it, last summer but it was small.  Kenna saw it today and was grossed out.  It's much bigger now (it's still only the size of a pencil eraser) than it was.  It's not painful but kind of hard.  So now I get to call a dermatologist tomorrow to see if I can get in sometime this century.

I promise in the next few days I'll try and update with a better topic.  Either that or more digi pages since I do them when I can't sleep! LMAO!

OH yeah, I'm also applying for disability.  It's a long shot but if anyone has any advice or knowledge on the subject could you message me?  Thanks!

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

4 Responses to “Quickie”

  1. hydrogeek June 30, 2008 at 9:59 am #

    Dang girl. I had no idea things were still so bad…and getting worse it sounds like. It sounds like the SCS is the last option left to try? If it is, it sounds like you need to try it despite your reservations.I used to work for a place that helped people get on disability, but only once they had unpaid hospital bills. Basically, if you owed BSA money, we looked at your records and if we could get you approved, then we got the back money you owed BSA. It was a place called MASH (medical advocacy services for healthcare). If you owe anybody any money you ought to see if there is a place like that around.Is there anything I can do to help?

  2. MelPate June 30, 2008 at 10:21 am #

    Thanks for the info, I'll look into it. And yes the SCS is pretty much the last option, so I gotta try it, I guess. There's nothing you can do other than take care of that boy! BTW, have you come up with names? You're so sweet.

  3. hydrogeek June 30, 2008 at 10:32 am #

    Shit. I guess all I can say is good luck with the SCS, then. Sean wants to name the child Milo. Um, can I just say HELLS NAW? We will come up with something. It will be better than that.

  4. Twinge July 1, 2008 at 10:13 am #

    Ugh – sorry you have to go through this. Good luck with the treatments.

Leave a Reply

