Psych eval

2 Jul

Well today was my Psych eval for the SCS.  I really like this doc, he specializes in chronic pain and depression that comes with it.  We dove way into my history, ie where I was from, what age was I when my parents divorced, etc.  I never knew it was going to be so deep.  I cried and finally opened up, which the doc was pretty happy about it.  He said he knew it was hard to open up about all kinds of stuff to someone you just met but he was very supportive.  He was also totally amazed that I've only seen a councelor 2x, after the death of Jackson.  He wants to see if he can get approval for 8 sessions because he feels like after this SCS or even to fight the chronic pain I need to work on my depression, which I agree. 

He was so easy to talk to and it was like he totally understood what I was feeling and what the pain was like.  Luckily I have my sis and other family to talk to about the pain, but the only one to understand chronic pain is Sis, since she deals with it.  Everyone else can just listen (which is awesome and I'm glad I have it), but they don't KNOW what it's like to live with.  It's nice to now have two people in my corner that understand.

He approved me for the SCS, now it's just waiting to see if the Work Comp will allow it.  I did tell him I was worried about having a TENS like unit placed in my back when the real TENS unit on my ankle/foot hurts like hell.  He said to talk to my pain doc, so I will soon about that.

So, here's to hoping that we get something approved and this works.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

3 Responses to “Psych eval”

  1. karen July 2, 2008 at 12:15 am #

    Crossing my fingers for you.

  2. Twinge July 2, 2008 at 3:54 am #

    This sounds like fantastic news – seems like this guy wants to get you healthy in all sorts of ways. I really like my doctors who have taken a holistic approach.

  3. hydrogeek July 2, 2008 at 2:42 pm #

    Good luck, hon.

Leave a Reply

