Question…

14 Aug

Hm, so I apparently am in a postin' mood today!  But, I have a good reason for this one, the third post today…

I was reading a blog, I cannot remember where, I read too many blogs, the other day and in this post the writer said something about she thought it was strange when people talk to dogs/cats/animals.  Seriously?  If it's strange to talk to animals then I must be way cracked-up crazy.  So, my question, do you talk to animals?  Any animals, anyone's animals, etc.?  I want to know!

For as long as I can remember I have talked to animals…and no they do not talk back, unless I've had way too much to drink.  I remember talking to our dachshund, Holly, when I was little, I even talk to animals I don't know.  And not usually just a "hi", but I carry on convos with them, ie "hey puppy, how are you?", "hello, are you a nice doggy…can I pet you?", "hi, what's your name?", etc.

Case in point, on our honeymoon, over 8 years ago btw, we went to Cancun.  We went to this great place with animals and even within' our little all inclusive place there were animals there too.  I saw a gorgeous parrot and I went up to it and said "hello" in that annoying bird voice, I know you know what I mean.  Anywho, this bird spoke back…and it just cracked me up and you can tell it made an impression since I remember it so long after…this very pretty mulitcolored bird clearly and loudly said "HOLA" back.  OMG, I snorted I was laughing so hard.  I guess I forgot that I was in Mexico and they don't speak English there…why would the birds?

 

And finally with our Hopie-shmopie, she ran down the stairs and just looked at me sitting on the couch, laptop on lap, men's gymnastics on the tube.  So, I promptly peered around my laptop and said "hello Hopie-shmopie, whatchoo doin', huh?"  She cocked her head at me and sighed I swear it.  I think she would if she could say back to me "bitch, I can't carry on a convo, so shut the hell up".  After her heavy sigh, she pranced off to get some water then immediately started lickin' her hoo-hoo.  Really, if that's all she's about, it wouldn't be so dammed bad.

 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

5 Responses to “Question…”

  1. I-Luv-Eeyore August 14, 2008 at 7:18 am #

    I talk to animals, the dogs, the cat, the dragon and even my fish. Chris makes fun of me sometimes, but then I catch him doing the same thing.
    I talk to animals outside the house, too. Other peoples dogs, etc… I even talk to the wild birds and the squirrels.

  2. hydrogeek August 14, 2008 at 9:05 am #

    Definitely an animal talker. Speaking of which, I gotta post pics of Dora and the new puppies. So cute you could die of a cute overdose.

  3. >Ü< CareaBearaSara >Ü< August 14, 2008 at 9:30 am #

    WHO DOESN'T TALK TO ANIMALS??
    Everyone I know does.. I talk to the bengal cats that live behind me, one even meowed back everytime I said something a few days ago.
    Kisa always meows back when I talk to her… and dawgfude too sometimes
    Ellie's tail and ears pop up as soon as I say something.

  4. MelPate August 14, 2008 at 11:01 am #

    Ha, see I knew I wasn't that crazy! Thanks to everyone for making me feel a little more "normal"!

  5. Yvette Ivy August 14, 2008 at 12:26 pm #

    Umm, hello? You are so not normal – and it has nothing to do with talking to animals! You know I talk to the animals…my pets, other peoples' pets, wild animals…I even make up songs that I sing to them. And we all know I'm crazy!

Leave a Reply

