Who knew?

28 Aug

I've never purchased a home…nope, never have.  I've been a renter since college.  But really, who knew that buying a house was so up and down?  I'm not really a planner except when it comes to my house.  When moving I need to know when to turn on utilities in our new place, when to turn off the ones at our old one.  I need to know when to schedule the AT&T guy, the Brinks Security guy and possibly get a moving truck. (I say possibly because there's a hurricane a brewin' in the gulf and who knows if that's gonna cause more issues for us!)  We were supposed to close tomorrow…well since it's a long weekend and end of the month we were pushed back to next week.  We could now close as early as the 3rd (Wednesday) or as late as the 5th (Friday).  I'm happy with that though, really…at least I have dates to play with a little…I've already set up our mail to start coming to the new place on Friday (5th).  Now I just need to call everyone else and get it scheduled.  AT&T will take 6-8 hrs to hook up while the Brinks dude will take 4-5 hours.  I just hope I have a couch to sit on and wifi to steal while I wait! LOL…

OH, BTW, does anyone use Brinks for thier alarm system?  If you do let me know (family included).  The first one to tell me will get the "referral" and $50 credited to their bill! 🙂

Sooooo, looks like we're all a go in a week…anyone wanna have a house warming party?! LOL…we're registered at Target *wink* *wink*!

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

4 Responses to “Who knew?”

  1. E August 29, 2008 at 8:05 am #

    We have brinks 🙂
    I can't remember if you have pets or not….but if so make sure they don't set off the motion alarm. Our cat set it off several times before we could figure out what was causing it! ha

  2. MelPate August 29, 2008 at 8:06 am #

    LOL…I'll keep that in mind!

  3. hydrogeek August 29, 2008 at 9:13 am #

    Yay! New house! The meterologist I work with says she doesn't think the hurricane is headed to Texas…more like Katrina area, unfortunately….

  4. MelPate August 29, 2008 at 9:24 am #

    Good for us, bad for them! Thanks for the inside info! LOL

Leave a Reply

