28 wks – 3rd trimester

24 Feb

I can't believe I made it…the 3rd trimester and I'm here!  Along with the 3rd trimester comes testing…glucose testing, group b strep testing, etc.  One of those I have failed.  I took my 1 hr and failed then took the 3 hr glucose test on Monday.  I failed that too.  So, those keeping score that means I have Gestational Diabetes.  I knew I would, I had a feeling all along and it explains a lot of things with this pregnancy (sickness, larger baby, etc.).  I'm glad I have answers and was tested so quickly, now it's just to get it under control.

At my appt tomorrow I will get my monitor to test my sugars, I will also have an appt made for me for a diabetes class, so I know what and how to eat.  The thing that sucks more than anything is having to cut back on carbs (I love me some bread and taters!…I'm southern what do you expect?!) and having to prick my finger, that always hurts more than having blood taken.  Oh well.

I'll update more when I take the class and talk to my doc tomorrow, I'm sure he'll have insight on this.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

2 Responses to “28 wks – 3rd trimester”

  1. hydrogeek February 24, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    Happy 3rd Trimester!!!!! (or tri-semester as a friend of ours calls it)I think I speak for us all when I say gestational diabetes, smestational diabetes, YOU ARE 28 WEEKS!!!! WOOOO HOOOOO!!!!

  2. deputysgirl February 26, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    OH MY GOSH!! I'm doing the happy dance as I write….WOOHOO! Way to go kiddo. The diabetes will go away once Jay's here but unfortunately it means that you're predisposed. Ask the docs for one of the new micro blood checker things – it's not as bad as the old way. Doesn't need as much blood, hence less of a jab to the finger. I am so happy for you and will keep praying my little heart out.

Leave a Reply

