Shopping!

9 Nov

It’s our first Christmas being a family of 4 and I’m totally excited!  I’ve been through the Toys-R-Us Big Book and circled things, made a wish list at toysrus.com and clipped my coupons.  I’ve actually made a pretty good plan.  3-4 shopping trips each time getting a $10 off coupon for the next time. The use of coupons for toys should save me about $50 or so.  Now, that doesn’t sound like much but that’s a free toy basically!  I don’t do Black Friday, that actually scares the bejeezus out of me, so I’m happy to do my shopping in a few chunks.  I just have to figure out where to hide the toys from Kenna!  She’s not a snooper but she goes in just about every closet, so it may have to be the garage!

But I’m stuck…do I get the same number of toys for each kid?  I mean, this is new territory to me.  McKenna’s toys are more expensive, guess it comes with getting older.  Plus it doesn’t help that I have coupons for Jay’s toys which makes them even cheaper.  I think what we’ll probably do is get all the toys for Jay that we have planned (about 5-ish) and not worry about the amount of presents under the tree for each kid, just go budget-wise.  The good thing, Jay doesn’t care and won’t care for a few years.  Kenna may not even care either, she’s a sweet girl and I’m sure the thought hasn’t even crossed her mind to count the presents and compare.  She’ll outnumber him on gifts for a few years and when the time comes that both kids are dividing up the boxes and bags and we’ll hear the first “her/his pile is bigger than mine”, I’ll remember this post I did in November of 2009 and smile a little to myself THEN break up the fight that ensues!

God I can’t wait!

One Response to “Shopping!”

  1. Jessica November 9, 2009 at 9:06 pm #

    I think it’s quantity over quality at that age…

Leave a Reply

