Arg, there be a pirate party!

20 Apr

Man oh man, was this weekend a great one!? 

Jaylon’s first birthday party was on Saturday at his Gramma’s house.  It was wonderful! 

The weekend kicked off on Friday, sitting on the back porch with family, a few glasses of wine and grilled out hamburgers.  Laughter, talking, gossip, laughter, catching up on family, and did I mention laughter and wine?  It was such a beautiful evening and a perfect Friday night if you ask me.  Jay didn’t go to sleep until 10-ish then we drove to my mother-in-law’s house where he was finally put in bed and asleep for good at 11:30.  He usually goes to bed at 6, so yeah, cranky butt!

Saturday was spent getting ready for the party.  My mom is the most amazing person ever and my stepdad, well, he’s just as amazing.  They came over and took a good 3 hrs or so putting the cakes together.  These cakes….AWE-SOME! But we’ll get to those in a minute.  The party began at 4 and we gave Jay his smashable cake.  He just looked at it.  We sang “Happy Birthday” to him (and as a side-note, I didn’t even cry, thankyouverymuch!) and he almost broke his neck to turn around to see what all the fuss was about!

Mom had to show him what to do with the cake and he just picked at it.  Finally got a little piece of chocolate icing and ate it right up.  He never took a hunk out of the cake or even smashed it…just kept picking at it eating little flecks of icing.  He is not my child!

Ma finally gave him a hunk of it and he grabbed it and put it all in his mouth.  I’m still not sure how he didn’t choke but he managed to get it all down.  We did take his shirt off him before the cake and I’m glad we did.  He rubbed the icing all over his belly…it was cute!

We had to leave after the cake since my Sis and brother-in-law had to leave.  We ate dinner and came back to the house to open presents.  The boy racked up and is still enjoying all the new toys.  He’s not sure what to play with first and just crawls from all the goodies.

Even with the lack of sleep he had that day he was such a good baby.  He was happy, he enjoyed playing with all the cousins and Kenna enjoyed helping open the presents!

Now, let’s discuss these cakes.  The first one, the smashable one, was a treasure chest; complete with jewels, coins and gold!  Talk about adorable and perfect for his individual cake!

Ahem…THE cake.  I am always in awe of my mom’s abilities especially when it comes to making cakes.  She’s made cakes since I can remember, only doing them for friends and family. She always says that you couldn’t pay her enough to make them professionally but she so could do it!  This cake was the pirate ship complete with the Captain and his crew.  She even made a damn parrot, people!  Each pirate was moulded after the cousins.  Jay was the Captain then you’ll see my nephew, Brett; Kenna; my nephew, Braden; and my niece, Breanna.  The wood on the ship looked like wood.  The sails were amazing, she even downloaded font that looked “pirate-ish” to write Happy Birthday on it.  And there’s even a freakin’ shark in the water!

I can’t believe that my baby’s 1st birthday party was this weekend with his big day tomorrow.  I’ll write about his actual birthday tomorrow…and cry, so I’ll be sure to have tissues by the computer!  Until then, enjoy the pics!








Click to play this Smilebox slideshow: Jay's bday slideshow
Create your own slideshow - Powered by Smilebox
Slideshow design generated with Smilebox

7 Responses to “Arg, there be a pirate party!”

  1. pinkknotes April 20, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    he’s such a cutie pie πŸ™‚ LOVE LOVE LOVE your mom’s skill! but I think I told you that on facebook πŸ˜€

    • fourpates April 20, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

      Yes you did, thank you! Also, what do you just stalk my blog for updates or what?! LOL J/k…I love the comment love!

      • Caroline April 20, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

        I’m signed up for email updates from your blog πŸ™‚ hence my seemingly stalker-ish nature πŸ˜‰

  2. kimmy8989 April 20, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    He’s really cute :)… It seems like you had a great weekend. have a nice day

  3. Elisha April 21, 2010 at 1:42 am #

    Awesome job on the cake! I can’t believe Jaylon is 1 already! I remember when you were blogging about being pregnant. Time sure does fly. Happy Birthday Jaylon!

  4. adventuresofamiddleagemom April 21, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    Came over from pinkknotes.
    Dang! Your Mom is a great cake decorator! Loved the video photos. I remember when my son Max was as young as your little guy. Today is Max’s 19th birthday. All the best to you and yours!

    • fourpates April 21, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

      Thanks for commenting and WELCOME! I admit, my mom is crazy good with cakes. LOL I can’t even imagine Jay being 19 yrs old yet, or maybe I don’t want to. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

